My Conviction, is that I Lack Conviction

Before I explain the title of this entry, we must first understand what is a conviction & what does conviction mean?

In a court of law it means a final judgment, “I hear by convict (judge, declare) you guilty!” But as a Christian, someone apart of a religious (using that word lightly) church & community, conviction means something different, which is also the second meaning to this word…

Conviction: a firmly held belief or opinion.

Taking that thought, as Christian we have a moral conviction or obligation to not murder, steal, lie, commit adultery (sex outside of marriage), etc. you get the point. The ten commandments is something everyone can come together and agree upon. But unfortunately that isn’t the point I am getting at. A conviction is something you set between you and the Lord, for example; some people choose to not eat meat, this isn’t for health reasons, they do it to please the Lord, to sacrifice something to the Lord, humbling themselves before the Lord. People have their convictions, and that is only between them and the Lord… No one else!

“Beloved, I urge you as sojourners and exiles to abstain from the passions of the flesh, which wage war against your flesh. Keep your conduct among the Gentiles honourable, so that when they speak against you as evildoers, they may see your good deeds and glorify God on the day of visitation”

– 1 Peter 2:11-12

Peter wrote this message telling the church (of all ages) to be steadfast with and unto the Lord, to know that His promises will be delivered continually, suffering is to be expected, but deliverance from the Lord is near. I found this passage this morning, and it hit me, do appear to those around me as the world? Or do I appear to be Christ-like? This is the question that (as Christians at least) ask ourselves.

My conviction is that I lack conviction.” I am just like you, just like any other human being… a sinner, I fall short of the glory of God. Personally, I strive to be relatable, approachable, someone that people can come and share their whole life story. I want to be real, and I know I am, those who know me can testify to that. But I know that I lack conviction, I lack obedience to the Lord. I struggle with a lot, one of them I will freely admit, right here, right now… my language, I can say some foul things at times, and it sickens me. I ask myself why do I do it? I know the answer, it is so that people will “accept” me, it is a natural tenancy for me. I seek other’s approval, but that isn’t a good or healthy way to live, because the more I grow closer in my relationship with Jesus, the more I pray and read of His word, I realize how wrong that is. The only approval I need to seek for is the Lord God almighty, who was, is, and is to come… That is my confession.

There are two kinds of people, kinds of Christians. You can either lack conviction, or you have too much (which I call legalistic), none of which are bad, or will cause you to “lose your salvation,” but they both have totally different social appearances. Those who lack, become too worldly, and are easily corrupted by their secular friends. Those who have too many become almost unapproachable, unrelatable, and are too outside of the world. Not trying to bash anyone, but you can probably agree with me on this. Both kinds of people are equally as “holy” or equally “saved.” That all being said, there are lines that should never be crossed, one of them is that we begin to preach our convictions to others as if they are the word of God… which His word clearly states in multiple occasions (Rev. 22:18-19; Deut. 4:2; Prov. 30:5,6; 2 Tim. 3:16) not to add to  and or take away from. Leave YOUR convictions to yourself and God… only!

Paul (from the Bible), he was a man of personal convictions, one of them that he dedicated his further journey to be celibate (not marrying & having sex). Paul had as he put it “a thorn in his flesh,” meaning that he had a temptation so bad that he continually asked God to remove this “thorn,” but God answered by saying “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in your weakness.” (2 Corinthians 12:9) If you read on Paul states that he is content in his weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities… after that saying “For when I am weak, then I am strong!” Paul had many convictions, and as we walk with Jesus throughout our lives, we will gain convictions, but it is only to strengthen us, but there is the other side of it, when we fall, and lack conviction God will pick us up, because through Jesus Christ we are strengthened.

Selah!

Love Nic

Leave a comment